moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


A Mildly Selfish Christmas Story : Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2002 @ 11:06 pm

I woke up this morning around nine thirty. That's the nice thing about living in a house where the children are all beyond the Santa Claus age. You get to sleep in.
When I woke up I went outside and made a snowman. A dirt-smeared grass/leaf infested snowman, but a snowman none the less. That's right. It was a white Christmas in Northern Virginia this year. Surprising, last year in Maine we didn't have one.

There was very little that I got that I wasn't expecting, which is mildly disapointing. Part of the whole fun is not knowing what you're going to get, but often if you don't tell them exactly what you want, what you get won't even be in the ball park and they'll have wasted their money.
My whole thing is, if you're going to insist on spending money on me, at least have it be something that you know I'll like so you're not throwing money away.
For Christmas I got:

  • a scanner
  • two rolls of film
  • one of those giant tins of altoids (altoid addict in me is very. very. happy)
  • $$ from Grandparents(improvement from the thoughtful but not age appropriate gifts last year)
  • $$ for photo supplies from Aunt Sue
  • A sweet photography book from Uncle Jon
  • A T shirt I picked out
  • a novel I picked out
  • candy and other stocking stuff
So my Christmas was selfishly profitable.
My mother loved the foot massager I got her. Hee it tickles... y'all know how ticklish I am.

Now that I have a scanner, here are some long-delayed pictures. Click on Link to view. (all taken by me unless otherwise noted):

  • Me - taken by my Grandfather with his digital camera (that doesn't hook up to his computer and even if it did, he has a stupid Mac) , Oct. 2002.
  • Colby One - taken under a bridge in NBPT, where it smelled like ass. Oh excuse me, sewage. 10/02
  • Colby Two - taken at a playground in NBPT. This was the one I wanted to enter into the contest but I didn't because the negative is scratched and I didn't have time to fix it. You can barely see it on the computer, but its there. 10/02
  • Colby Three - taken at the library in NBPT. 10/02
  • "Cut" - a picture of friend holding razorblade just above the underbelly of her arm.
I'm going list crazy aren't I?
Today I spent most of my afternoon making a site for my family. Kind of a community to keep in touch with each other through. You can view it here, but please don't participate (ie don't post on the message boards, vote in poll, etc.).
Tomorrow I'm setting up a journal type thing for Mum at scribble.nu. I thought about diaryland, but then I realized that finding my diary would be too easy if she knew what server I'm on, seeing fiercelingua is my email address. So I found a different one. It seems pretty cool. Still partial to diaryland though.
Kate's coming in four days. Weee. Very excited, for several reasons.
1.) I get out of the house
2.) I have another camera victem! (pity her)
3.) Someone I know, trust and can be comfortable with compared to the aquaintences down here (not dissin' them mind you, I just don't know them that well).

Okay, enough lists.
Night!
/A

mood: happy
music:
So Much Shouting So Much Laughter - Ani Difranco

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland