moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


My Life in a Box : Saturday, Dec. 28, 2002 @ 5:32 pm

I cleaned my room today.
Don't act so shocked. I wasn't about to have Kate sleep amoungst that mess. Yea, she's sleeping in my room because my couch is the only spare bed. Mum's not too happy with the sleeping arrangement.
"Wouldn't she be more comfortable sleeping in Jenny's room?"
"Yea, so Jenny can sleep down here with me and Kate can attempt to sleep with Dad's jackhammer snoring next door?"

But my parents shouldn't worry. I wouldn't do that to Jacqui, or Kate. And Kate's a very loyal person, she'd never do something like what they're all thinking about. Mandas has informed me that she's glad she's not in my situation. I didn't realize there was a situation. Why is everyone assuming we're going to have wild lesbian sex as soon as we see each other? Damned people (everyone, not just you Mandas. I love you!).

Anyway, what was I going to say?
While I was cleaning my room, I took down my box of letters to add some more (a copy of a letter to Ryan, an email from Zac, a letter from my German friend Ina). I decided I'd organize it a bit better (each letter is organized by the person who sent it) and spread them all out.
I almost started to cry.
Every single one of these letters marks a time in my life, a person who was or is very important in the shaping of who I am today. Colby, Amanda, Ryan, Toby, Kate... and others.
To anyone else, it's a box of old papers with stamps on them. But it's so much more... I don't know how to explain it. I just know that twenty years from now, when I open that box, I'm going to have all these memories attached to each piece of mail. Curling up with Amanda on the couch, falling asleep with Ryan, talking to Colby until four in the morning on her porch, Toby's smile... Kate's scent and that dreamy way she used to look at me...
I never thought a simple box could hold so much.

/A
mood: nostalgic
music: Ani Difranco - "Fierce Flawless"

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland