moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Un-Slothness : 09.03.03 @ 9:28 pm

I've got the feeling that this will be a good year.
A bit stressful at times, but a good year none the less.
Perhaps its because for the first time I'm not completely sloth like.
I came home today and got all of my AP Comparative Government homework for next Friday done. That's unheard of, for me.

I want to join Young Democrats, actually be active in Photo Club, and kick our GSA's butt into gear. I want to start a Generation Dean at my high school and help campaign for Howard Dean (which I will go into more later in this entry).
I want to - and for the first time I actually belive it's possible - get nothing less then a B+ this year. Maybe a B in AP Lit (which is essentially a B+ with the .5 added on).
I can't belive it. I'm motivated. I can do this.
I can do this.

The first two days of school went well. I think I'm going to like most of my classes. AP Lit is going to be a struggle for me because rarely do I actually sit down and read the books I'm supposed to, but I'm going to force myself to this year. I've discovered that if I purchase the book myself and high-light the hell out of it, it really helps me look for what I need for any essays or tests on the book.
I love AP Comp Gov't already. I had fun doing the homework, it's similar to me having fun with taking notes for history. Whenever I get really into a Social Studies course like History or Gov't, I always stop and wonder if maybe I should major in that instead of photography.
After all, there's a lot more I can do with a History/Gov't degree then I could with a degree in photography.
I could go into politics. Kick my father's ass in arguments...

The first few days of lunch periods always suck because you don't know who is in your lunch period, and the cafeteria is so full of students you can hardly make out faces. The entirety of my old school, including junior high, could sit down and have lunch in my cafeteria and you'd still have room for all of the faculty.
So today I sat down next to some people I vaguely knew, feeling completely out of place, out of the loop, and that I should have just sat down by myself and worked on homework.
They just continued their conversations for a good five minutes... then the two I vaguely knew turned to me, as if surprised I was there, and started really talking to me...
Can you tell how lonely I am at my school sometimes? I have plenty of acquaintances who I talk to before class and such... but I don't have a group. I haven't hung out with anyone after school since I moved here in November, and even though I know that a lot of people like me and think I'm chill, they don't think to invite me to parties, or over to their house, or whatever.
Because of this, I rarely feel comfortable when I�m talking to more then one person in the �group� that most of my acquaintances are in. I don�t belong.
So that�s why the fact that these two girls talking to me, Megan and Laura -- one of whom I met the first night I was in Northern Virginia (she drove the car we used to go trick or treating) and haven�t seen since � made me so happy. Not just talking to me - plenty of people talk to me, don�t get me wrong, but talking to me like a friend, like someone they want to know more about...
Yea. I know I�m pathetic.

*
Tonight I went to a Dean Meetup at a diner down the road... there must have been nearly sixty people there... and I was the youngest one.
The guy in front of me, thinking I was in college, asked me what school I went to and was like - �Do your parents know you�re here?� when I said that I was still in high school.
I serious felt like sticking my tongue out at him. But that tends not to make a good impression on people and re-affirm the whole "young and immature" thing ;-).

Well, the important thing is that I'll be able to vote in the general election and that, if Dean makes the primary, I will vote for him and do my damnest to get the word out. Starting now.

All of you, especially if you can vote in either the primaries or the general, or both, check out the following links:
deanforamerica.com
generationdean.com
dean2004.meetup.com

And, if you like what you see do the following:
1.) Register to vote if you haven't.
2.) I made some banner thingies for your site. Feel free to use one, upload it onto your site if you want, if not, my bandwith is good until January and probably beyond then.
3.) Go to a local Dean Meetup.
4.) Vote for Dean in the Primaries and we'll be one step closer to getting rid of the moron currently in office..

Banners:



/A

P.S. I will leave with my quote down here, because it's too long to fit in the little space I'm given.

"I want my country back! We want our country back! I am tired of being divided! I don't want to listen to the fundamentalist preachers anymore. I want America to look like America, where we are all included, hand in hand. We have dream. We can only reach the dream if we are all together - black and white, gay and straight, man and woman. America! The Democratic Party! We are going to win in 2004! Thank you very much. Thank you very much. Stand up for America, Stand up for America, Stand up for America."
-- Howard Dean, March 15, 2003 (read rest of speech)

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland