moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Cause and Effect : 10.13.03 @ 6:57 pm

I always have the hardest time motivating myself on weekends. During the week, I'm very productive, very motivated and I get things done and generally done well. The weekends, especially long weekends, are spent procrastinating, knowing that I can always do it tomorrow. Then Monday night comes and I realize that I haven't done any studying for the big AP Comparative Government test this Tuesday...
So I shrug and go to Barnes and Noble. Then I come home. Eat supper. Sit down at the computer, write an entry. It's seven pm. After this entry, I might spend an hour or so studying. Or I might just thumb through little book of some of Edgar Allen Poe's work that I got today at Barnes and Noble. Or maybe read the book on Frida that I've had forever but have't had a chance to read.
You know. Something putzy other then homework. Then I'll cram until midnight, or one, and then tomorrow morning I'll bitch about being up so late studying for the test and have trouble staying awake during said test. It's sort of like Physics (only I never did well in that class), with the whole cause and effect thing.

Something that always amazes me about Northern Virginia drivers is that they don't really deserve to be called drivers. Driving isn't really what they do. You know how people are in cities? Don't look at anyone else, while you're walking, keep your head down or forward, and just plow on through regardless of the people around you? Yea, that's how people drive down here. People here will mow you over and flip you off while doing so. You almost need to go 10mph over the speed limit to not get killed here.
What makes things even more scary is that all these crazy drivers are driving Lexuses, Jaguars, BMWs, Mercedes... you know, the type of car that will pay for most people's four year undergrad school.
These people seem to think that because their car is fancy and yours is a cheap assed Ford Focus, that driving laws do not apply to them and anything that is their fault is really yours because you have the Ford and they have the leather seats.

Regarding speed limits: I don't know about you, but if I see a yellow flashing sign on both sides of the road that declare that the speed limit is 25mph, I'm going to assume that because they're putting so much effort into making sure you see it, that there must be a reason for the speed limit being 25mph. You know, like multiple car crashes along that curve. So I generally make an effort to go at least 30 in that patch. Slow down a little, pay more attention, etc.
But no! This is Northern Virginia! Fuck speed limits! What's this cheap assed Ford Focus doing going so fucking slow?! (passes my car while honking and going 45)

I talked to the guy at Barnes and Noble briefly, regarding their hiring policies. Yes, they hire seasonal people. The base pay is $7/hour.
So I think that this summer, I might just stay here. Work full time at Starbucks, supplement that income with a job at Barnes and Noble... which will give me a discount when I go about purchasing my textbooks and shit.

*
I had a photo shoot with my friend Sean today. He really covered my ass, I was running out of ideas regarding who I should photograph. I was surprised, I think I got some pretty good shots. I wasn't really expecting to because the backdrop was around the freaking High School (which is not the most aesthetic place) and yea... it just didn't seem like it was going to happen.
But yes. It was good.

*
I was briefly motivated to study for Comparative. What a fleeting thought that was.
But it�s not like I haven�t done anything regarding Comparative Government. One of the things we�re supposed to do sometime this semester is make a webpage for our country (my group�s country is France), which I did do. It�s just about done, I just need the other people in the group to add their essays and their input blah blah (not a group worker). You can view it if you really feel that it�s worth your time. (Contridiction in Terms)

/A

P.S. I also finished my next layout, which I think I will hold off putting up until November because I'm rather fond of this one.

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland