moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Love [of the Lens] : 07.23.03 @ 10:01 am

That photo shoot that Ryan says that I mentioned and which took place last weekend went well. G&J overpaid me - $120 is way too much for a sitting fee when I would have done it for free and when they insisted, I only ask for $30 (to cover supplies).

I loved it. Every time I take pictures I remember exactly why I want to do this for the rest of my life. I fall in love all over again with the lens, the angles...

Taking pictures of a two year old is no easy feat. They have endless energy. To get a good picture I was constantly keeping the camera in focus on him, so not to miss a surprise smile that would flick across his face, the purest of smiles, of joy...

He's such an adorable child.

I have another photo shoot with him this weekend, to finish up this roll and maybe another one [before his nap]. Then on Thursday the 31st I have the [name of town next to ours] Dark Room reserved for my use.

I only hope I remember all the exact times of developing the film into negatives. Most people consider this the most boring part, it's very precise. To me, it's stressful. I'm so worried that I'm going to forget a step or mess up during this critical time of developing and then when I opened the tank at the end of the process, all of them would be ruined.

Very stressful. Yet at the same time, calming. The very thought of spending hours in the dark room with the comforting smell of chemicals is soothing.

I can't express my love for photography accuratly in words. The closest I can put it is it's like being in love with a wonderful woman. The love just fills you and boils over until you're nothing but a giddy, content mass of happiness.

*

I've been told that I've developed a reputation for a bit of a yes-girl. And I mean this in the way that if someone wants their shift covered, there's a 98% that I'll say yes. It's not that I want to work, or that I need the money. It's not even that I particularly like whoever wants me to cover their shift. It's just that I don't see the reason "I don't feel like it" as a legit reason to say no when I'm really not doing anything else. And if everyone owes me a shift or two, I can call in favors when there's something else I'd rather be doing.

*

I'm currently rather nervous because I parked in a parking lot/garage that I don't think I was supposed to park in (Municipal parking) but damnit, all the soccor moms with their kids were at the library today and there just wasn't space when I pulled up.

My luck I'll get a ticket.

Anyway. Later. Call me if you ever want to chat, AM knows my phone number.

/A

Drink of the Week: Double Tall Soy Toffee Nut Latte (strong yet sweet & healthy)

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland