moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Warm Bubbly Feeling : 06.15.03 @ 6:37 pm

Despite the fact that I am beyond swamped right now � with two major final projects due Wednesday and me not having enough time to do them and working to boot � I feel the need to write an entry to my poor neglected diary.

First of all, this being the first "real" entry that I didn't just copy and paste in from one of my fish boards (yes. I post on fish boards. No. I never said I wasn't a dork) since the eighth, I'd like to thank all of those that said I was cute. Despite the fact that y'all are terribly blind, I appreciated the compliment anyway.

I never did talk about Pride Festival, which last Sunday, did I? I'm afraid that it is not as fresh in my mind as it was last Sunday night, but I'll touch upon that anyway.

I have never seen so many queer people in my life. No joke. Gay Queers. Dyke Queers. Bi Queers. Queers in dresses. Queers in leather S&M get ups. Hairy Queers. Short Queers. Queers on Stilts. Femme Queers. Stone-Butch Queers. Scary Queers.

Are you getting my point yet? There were a lot of fucking queers.

I walked the Festival first with Amanda and her girlfriend and their friends.

(Side note: Amanda wants me to have a threesome with her and her girlfriend. Her girlfriend thinks I'm cute, but seeing that I said no to the threesome but I'm comfortable around Amanda, She thinks that I want to fuck Amanda and got a bit jealous. Not the case. I am not interested in either of them sexually. So that made the whole day rather interesting, to say the least.)

Then we went to Dupont Circle and I showed them around (with the exception of Amanda, they'd never been, and Amanda didn't know where all the gay shops were), and then I took the metro back to The Mall and met up with my friend Allison, who lives in Maryland. I like Allison a lot, as a friend. She's a great girl and conversationalist. Someone tell me if I posted the pictures I took of her and her girlfriend, I don't remember and I'm too lazy to go looking.

Then I went home and that was that.

*

Today I worked what is probably the worst shift � nine to five thirty. It's an eight-hour shift that doesn't leave you any time in the day to do anything else but crash.

My Starbucks is not that busy, most of the time. Our main clientele is faithful regulars who chill in the lobby with a book and a coffee for hours on end. These are the customers whose drinks we know by heart and often have them done before they even come in the door. It's great, especially in the evening, it creates the whole laid-back atmosphere that is desirable in coffee shops - even in corporate whore* coffee shops.

Anyway. This morning around ten thirty was the first time I saw the line go out the door. There was only two of us and me at the register.

You'd think, if you can see the line is this long you'd be considerate and not be a demanding ass hole of a customer.

Then again, this is America.

Ah. The joys of customer service.

The only real thing of note today was that Interesting Girl (read) stopped by my store and ordered I think a Grande Latte (for her Dad).

It was right before my half, and some how I managed to get into a conversation with her and spend twenty minutes of my half (so much for lunch) standing outside talking to her by her truck (yea, she's gay. No question.) while her Dad's latte got cold. Actually. It was more me rambling, again. I seem to do that a lot around her, damnit. Hell, not just around her. Around anyone.

God. I wanted to ask her for her number. Or at least her screen name. I wanted to ask her to the movies and supper. I wanted to just talk to her for hours. I wanted to hug her.

I didn't, of course.

Afterwards, that warm bubbly feeling was impossible to suppress, despite my efforts. It's strange. I know when it's real interest, opposed to a regular fleeting "crush", when that warm bubbly feeling happens. It's only really happened once and we all know that turned out well, once I managed to tell Kate that I liked her.

I just don't know where I'm going to find the courage to do anything about this.

Aight. I'm tired and my homework is glaring at me.

/A

* Don't get me wrong. I like Starbucks and they're great to their employees and make great coffee. They also make an effort to do environmental things, even though the amount of water and coffee wasted in one hour, let alone one day, is amazing. But like any major chain, they are a corporate whore.

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland