moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Adventure at Work : 02.19.03 @ 9:19 pm

I don't know if you'll find this as amusing as I did looking back but I'm going to tell you about it anyway and you'll just have to bear (bare? How the hell do you spell that?) with me.

All of this takes place between 4:45 and 9:00pm
It starts off with me getting ready for work while my parents argue over letting me take the car to work or not. Work's just down the road, but because of snow there is no sidewalk, which proposes a problem because people around here can't fucking drive if their life depended on it (and it does!), let alone in the snow. So I finally get the car, get in, and attempt to back out of my long narrow downhill driveway (that has a tree on one side and a mailbox on the other). I manage not to hit the tree but I just can't get out of the driveway. Every time I go to turn out, my back end is fine but my front end hits the snowbank. Clock ten minutes doing this over and over again on a driveway that connects to a busy road that is supposed to have three lanes but only has two and a half due to snow.
(Because these morons down here don't know how to plow, all roads are basically minus half a lane, yet people are still treating it like there are three lanes. Which is stupid. Very stupid. This causes accidents and traffic jams.)

Okay so I finally get to work, after squeezing through a too small entrance to the parking lot. Work's going fine at first, with the exception of a customer-bitch who just can't accept the fact that we're out of card things for the gift certificate and thinks that we will manage to pull one out of our ass if she complains loudly and long enough.

FUCK!! #1
I go to make another pot of decaf after this one expires... and I forget to turn the drip off. So the pot continues to make itself as it just pours right out, flooding the counter and I don't notice for a good five minutes. Luckily, my boss didn't seem to notice either and I cleaned it up without him saying anything.

FUCK!! #2
I'm about to clean out the whipped cream canister and... it explodes all over me, the sink, the counter, the wall...
My co-worker N and my boss got a very good laugh off of that one. Supposedly everyone does it once, and it means I'm an official Starbucks employee now.

FUCK!! #3
(combination of things)
I spilt the whipping cream at least four times
Dropped a tea bag's string in the tea.
Messed up two people's orders of regular coffee. How the hell can you mess up an order of REGULAR COFFEE?

To put the icing on the cake....
I lost my voice around six o'clock for about half an hour. I'm not quite sure why I lost it, but I did.
I forgot to bring a change of tampon/pad.
There was this really creepy guy who kept on leering at me while he was in line, while he was ordering, while he was waiting for his drink... Christ if I wasn't working and some guy looked at me like that I'd kick him in the nuts. I don't get what was up with picking me to leer at. Natasha's a thin, attractive, femme, and me, you can barely tell I'm female.

Phew. Anyways. Work was interesting, amusing and trying to get out of the parking lot (it now doubles as a maze made by those so called plowers) took me at least ten minutes.
God I love my job....

/A

Post Script
A lot of you have been contacting me, apologizing for being "the one" that has been reading multiple pages of my diary without leaving a note. Don't feel guilty. I only said something because everyone does it and it's a little creepy to know someone has read oh say ten pages of your diary and not left a note or anything...

I have one free hosting account still open. This comes with:
10 MB of space that allows you to host the images there and post them images elsewhere
an email account ([email protected]) that is best used through Outlook Express.
Required:
That you actually use your account
That you're a relatively regular visitor to my diary.

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland