moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


RIP Frida : 05.07.03 @ 10:22 pm

Since I've moved, I've felt completely isolated from my old friends.
Some of them I haven't talked to in months. Those that I have, it's like watching their life as a television show with bad reception. A television show that I used to have a part on but my contract ran out.
That whole feeling can get a bit lonely sometimes. They're all off living their lives, starting at new schools, attending college, falling in love... and I'm not there to be there with them.

I bit someone today.
Those of my old friends are probably grinning at that thought, or rolling their eyes ("That's Amy all right"). I tend to bite people (gently, normally on their shoulder) when I trust them. It's just a sign of affection to me, and seeing I haven't bitten anyone in awhile, this was completely random and out of the blue.
The guy was completely not suspecting it and I was reminded once again that you just don't bite people in polite society. People aren't used to getting randomly bitten. I must learn to break that habit.

Frida the Transvestite Fish, who became my beloved Betta over April Vacation, was found stiff, pale, and lifeless on the bottom of his bowl yesterday. Despite my parents suggestions that I feed him to the cat (there is no way I'm going to encourage him to get a taste for my future fish), he was unceremoniously flushed soon after being scooped up with my net.
I spent the rest of the evening surprisingly sad. I mean, it's a god damned fish that I only had for three weeks, you wouldn't think that I'd be sad over its loss considering a fish's average lifespan. But I had really tried to do everything I could to keep him happy and healthy. I fed him regularly, changed the water ever five days, and kept him in the warmest part of the house. I think the problem was that my house just isn't that warm, and it's hard to keep a fish bowl above 70F when your house is barely 70. I'm thinking about investing in a two gallon tank so I can heat the damned thing and not freeze my fish. Then maybe I can keep it in my room (which is rarely above 65F, I like it cold).

Frida used to be in a bowl on the top of our entertainment system (above the tv) in the living room. You'd be sitting there watching tv and he'd be swimming around, making bubbles along the surface. (sighs) Like I said, I'm surprised at how sad it is to just see an empty bowl up there now.

Moving on.
Am I the only one whose brain does a bazillion things at once? Like I can be taking a Math test while working out this week's schedule and planning various other things, all at once. My brain either has to be very calm and sleepy or zippy and multitasking.
Sometimes it's a little disconcerting, especially when I'm trying to focus on something.

Oh. I took my AP English Language and Composition test Tuesday. Blach. It was horrible. I can almost see my two (out of five, a two isn't passing) right now. I completely bombed the essays. Bah. Like it really matters anyway.

I'm sorry, my brain is doing that multitasking thing I talked about, and I can no longer focus long enough to finish this entry with a bang.
Let's review.
I took the AP English Language and Composition test Tuesday morning. I found Frida dead Tuesday afternoon. I worked today. And that's seriously all that has happened recently.

Oh. I've decided that after college (where I'll take Russian) I'm going to spend two years with the Peace Corps in Kazakhstan (they speak Russian there too) teaching little Kazakh students English and learning the obscure language Kazakh and improving upon Russian, both languages I'm sure will help me out a lot later on in life.
I'm also sure that I - a lesbian from the suburbs - will fit in quite well in the third world Islamic country.

/A

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland