moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Sun Burnt, Rainbow Sporting Me : 04.13.03 @ 12:10 am

I really like DC. I'm not sure how to explain exactly why I enjoy Washington so much, but I just do.
Not as a tourist, either. I'm not a big fan of the Smithsonian and I haven't even seen all of the monuments yet...
I just enjoy the city. It is a nice city, though I really haven't spent a great deal of time in the skuzzy area of DC so I don't know if I can really claim to love all of DC.
I'd like to go to school in DC, but eh. It's so damned expensive...

Today Adriane and I went into DC for the Youth Pride Day thingy.
I had this whole entry written out in my head, but my brain is so fuzzy and tired right now that it may or may not connect and make it to my fingers intact. Apologies ahead of time for any lack of sense made.
.:yawn:.

Youth Pride Day was all right, I suppose. It wasn't as good as I thought it'd be. I spent most of my day wandering around with my camera trying to get a good shot or two. I might have gotten one or two. I hope.
I was getting really frustrated because I really hate working at midday. It's difficult to work with the shadows on their faces and yea. Blah. Also, I don't take pictures of people without them knowing. I will ask first because I think it's rude to just snap it of them. Unless they're on stage, of course. That's a different story.

So I'm getting in close to the stage for a shot and I see this other guy with a very nice Nikon SLR taking pictures as well.
I'm a loyal Nikon fan. If you use a Nikon, I automatically give you one point in the good taste category.
Anyway. He asked if I freelanced.
- Well I'm only seventeen, I say, so no, I don't.
He gave me his card. He's the senior photographer at the Metro Weekly, which is a weekly DC GLBTQ newspaper.
He wants me to send some of my pictures and maybe I could freelance for them.
Um. Eek? I don't do photojournalism, really. I suppose I could try but...
eek?
I don't have anything good enough to show him... it's all shit. I don't know what I'd do if I put myself up like that and gave him some of my pictures, and then if he decides that I'm good enough to bring on. I also don't know how I'd work it into my schedule or drive to the places they want me to photograph...
Eeek.

Well yea, today was fun.
I spent a lot of it missing Ryan though. Next year, he's going to have to come visit me over April break, if he gets one. We can go to Youth Pride Day together.

The dance was great in some ways and disappointing in others. You can't not have a large group of queer, hormonal teenagers in a dance club and not have a chemical combustion.
It's not every day you see a line of four gay guys grinding each other.
And then of course there's that couple that was so into it for the entire time I was there that if they didn't have an orgasm before they left, or at least a really bad boner, I'd be surprised.

Dancing in the 21st century is nothing but foreplay, as I'm sure you've realized by now. A lot of ass-to-crotch rubbing and humping going on.
Now, the dry humping [to an extent] is okay. So is the ass-to-crotch rubbing and the grinding... it's all good and rather pleasant.

But what really irritates me is to see a girl rubbing her ass against a guy's crotch and she's bent over to the point where her hands are on the ground as she does her ass magic on the guy's crotch.
I have an incredibly high PDA (public displays of affection) point. Almost nothing will bother me when it comes to PDA, yet for some reason this did. Extremely. I wanted to walk over to the girl, tell her to get some respect for herself, and to the guy, I'd tell him to learn how to dance. Because obviously he can't if he's just standing there letting her do all the work.

I finally got to go to Lambda Rising, a Queer bookstore on CT Ave off Dupont. Hehe it was great. I easily spent almost $40 there. Got a rainbow flag, among other things. Great store. Wish I worked there! Oh the employee discounts...

So I talked too much today. Rambled, mostly. I don't remember anything I might have said today, which is kind of sad. I have to stop doing that, rambling beyond the point of it registering in my brain somewhere.
Which is what I'm doing now. Need sleep so my brain isn't totally gone tomorrow because I'm actually working a real (8 hour) shift.

/A

P.S. Oh. And I got a free dental damn. It was used (in the plastic bag, so I can still actually use it later) to wrap around some of my various jangly things so they didn't hurt my camera as they bounced around my bag all day.
Ah, the creative uses of latex.

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland