moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Eviromentally Happy Pads, Etc. : 03.23.03 @ 6:33 am

"... if we let our love
off of its leash
do you fear like I fear
how fierce it could be?"

Oh My My � Ani Difranco

I would like to take this moment to say that modern technology sucks my store bought balls and it can continue to do so until I get some pleasure out of it.

I wake up this morning. My clock says its six thirty, so I chill until the alarm goes off at seven, when I drag myself out of bed to shower and get ready for work at eight.

After showering, dressing, putting my contacts in, I drag myself upstairs to feed the damned cat that it is persistently yowling like he hasn't been fed in three years and its all my fault.
Hmm. The sun's coming up. That's strange.
It's not that strange, actually, considering its really six thirty am and for some reason my clock is an hour ahead.

Not quite the time to push the clocks forward an hour so why the fuck is mine an hour ahead?
I don't know... I don't think it was right last night when I went to bed.
How strange.

Anyway, its too late now to go to bed and such and there's lots of things I should/could be doing right now. Studying for my Algebra Quiz that's in twenty four hours, taking notes on that huge assed chapter for AP US History, actually doing my English homework, cleaning my bathroom, doing the liter box...

But no. I'd rather sit here and type out an entry until its time for me to somehow maneuver my way out of my very narrow driveway and into on coming traffic.

Which reminds me of yesterday.

Yesterday, I drove to [name of plaza here] to pick up a environmentally happy pad at the health store. Getting to [name of plaza] involves several major, hectic, near suicidal intersections where these esteemed Virginian drivers try to get from point A to point B as quickly as possible regardless of lights, corners, and those pesky interferences called other cars.
I made it to the plaza all right. I was so stoked, too! Man...
And then as I'm entering this first intersection (the big major one that my Mum was afraid I'd total our car at)... I'm making a right turn right after the light changed from red to green and someone turning left across from me speed through their red light, narrowly misses me (causing me to swerve out of his way), and honked his horn as he continued to swerve in and out of traffic.

Now, granted, that was partially my fault because I didn't pay much attention after the green light to anyone who might do that - and here, you really need to do that - but still. That wasn't cool. My nerves are shaky enough without that bull shit. But hey. I'm learning. I think I'm becoming a better driver by actually being out there, observing and partaking in the action. Let's just hope I learn before I end up dead.

Environmentally Happy Pads are so great. They're cloth, cotton, reusable (read: washable) and so comfortable. All it is basically is an extra lining (or two, depending on your flow) to your underwear, then when you're done with it, you soak it in cold water and then wash it. They're not sweaty, there's no excess garbage, and you can't tell you're wearing them.

Don't ew me. Believe me, I ew-ed at first too. But the comfort won me over. Also, in the long run its cheaper and think of all those pads that I'm not using that won't end up knee high in some landfill somewhere (now that's ew).
Gladrags.com & Lunapads
Both those companies make and sell cloth pads. They also try to convince you that your period is a happy time when we should all be in touch with our natural woman blah blah blah.
I really wouldn't go that far. If I could rip out my uterus instead of having to deal with bleeding and cramping every month, I would.

I think I'll just wait until they perfect the uterus transplant before I do that. I think I could make a lot of money selling my uterus to someone who wants it.

I was/am so unbelievably tired, to the point where I was being rather incoherent and shaking when Kate called around ten last night (or was that nine? I don't know, like I said, my clock has been funky lately). I still am rather shaky, and my tummy is picketing for some healthy Cheerios with strawberries (yum). I don't eat regularly or properly when I work like this. For the past three days I've survived off of "freedom" fries, various coffee based drinks, and things from the pastry case, if I eat at all. Mainly because the last two are free or marked down with my 30% discount.

All right, I have an online friend who is currently just this side of homeless and needs your help. She makes journals and sells them online. You can either choose from the ones she has up, or you can email her and she'll do a custom job for you. So if you like journals, or if you know someone that does, do your good deed for the day/week, and help her out by purchasing one (or more!) of them.
Bailey's Journals & Baily's LJ

Ugh. I don't want to go to work. I'm too tired and not functional. And I think Mum wants to drag me clothes shopping later. Eek.

/A

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland