moved
Click here

What's new?
- New domain
- More hosting space
- Blog & Journal
- Photo Gallery
- (free) subdomains & emails offered


Banking Issues : 02.27.03 @ 3:21 pm

It was another snow day today, even though the roads are clear, there is little to no ice, and pretty decent visibility.
So with all these snow days it's looking like we're going to school until June 26th. Gotta love a school system that refuses to write off snow days even though according to the state we've met the point where we can just write them off. No! By golly, our students are going to make up every second of the school board's stupid decision to call off school for a total of two weeks over this winter.
Maybe only two of those days really needed to be called off. Two.

Yes. So. I slept in until noon and then my Mum and I are off to the bank to open an account for me so I can have somewhere to put my pay check every week.

We're told that in order for me to have any sort of bank account where Mum doesn't have to hold my hand (ie actually be there) in order for me to deposit or withdrawl money, I have to be 18.

Seeing I'm not 18 though, we could always stand on our heads, jump through hoops, and hoot like monkeys and maybe they'll work something out.

Well. Not exactly. Basicly, in order for me to have an account that will do me any good at all, I have to wait until I'm 17 (in a little over a month) and maybe they can slip me under the table... yet still have an account with my mother.

WTF?! I'm responsible enough to be a camp counsler and take care of your kids, I'm responsible enough to work twenty odd hours a week, take AP classes, and keep my GPA above a 3.0 yet not responsible enough to manage my own money without Mummy holding my hand? I don't get it. All I want is an account that I can deposit and withdrawl money on my own. I'd also like a checking account, with a card. It's not too hard to ask. They do it every day. But because I'm a year and a month younger, it's wrong of me to even think of that as an option. The look I got when I said I wanted a regular account...

The bank bitch irritated me so much. She acted like I wasn't even there. Whenever I asked her a question, she'd turn to Mum, keep eye contact with Mum while half answering my question. To me, that's just rude and if you think that seeing it's my money you're going to investing and getting money out of, they'd treat me a little better.

I hate this. Things that should be simple are made complicated just because I'm not eighteen.

Grawrrrr.

/A

<< // >>


index | older | diaryland